At the end of a rainbow

Lucy found her diamond sky

Tinkering around

on June 26, 2012

I have always felt that school eduaction was the best way to lose touch with reality, but I never knew higher studies continue doing building on the virtual ivory tower of useless information. I gained some conviction in my hypothesis after seeing illiterate indian mechanics take a car apart with ease while their Singaporean counterparts sat in the middle of the road turning the pages of ‘D-I-Y’ books. So much for the advertisement of literacy.
My other set of observations involve the very beings who are responsible for me writing this- my parents. My dad is this highly intellectual guy who won’t survive a day on his own given the fact that he needs a mathematical formula to predict when will my dog pee next. My mom on the other hand, has not only survived but also thrived on her good ol’ intuition which didn’t need any certificate to exist. Perhaps that’s the best part of not having a degree. There’s no stamp about the things you DON’T KNOW. The result? Mom becomes the mechanic cum electrician cum plumber cum cook in the house while dad can blow your mind with his theories about all these activities. He believes one can’t tinker around if does not know. My mom is a living example of the fact that one can’t know unless one tinkers around.

4 responses to “Tinkering around

  1. sid says:

    Whoa! Love it!

  2. Bharath Hariharan says:

    Loved the last two lines :))..

  3. debbiebornfree says:

    Thanks guys 🙂

  4. N says:

    Loved this post 🙂

Leave a Reply

