At the end of a rainbow

Lucy found her diamond sky

Growing up

on December 13, 2011

I have nightmares, I tell you, believe me
of the time when butterflies stop dancing around trees.
When the sun won’t sparkle on the distant sea,
When play-time won’t scrape my knees.
When birds won’t give their secret wink,
When dragons and fairies become forgotten tales,
When the baby mouse won’t look so pink,
When I would stop looking for a trail of snails,
When the flying saucers become an ordinary cup,
I’ll forget I was sad about growing up.

4 responses to “Growing up

  1. Bharath Hariharan says:

    Beautiful and touching… Loved the last line 🙂

  2. sid says:

    Chotu… We will pray and ensure that such a scenario doesn’t materialise… 🙂

  3. N says:

    This is a beautiful poem, Deborah.

Leave a Reply

